The Redhead Bibliophile

What are you reading?

It’s Thanksgiving already??!!!

on November 14, 2016

It’s been probably around 6 months since I’ve written anything here.  Life has certainly gotten in the way.  I’ve had a new work-from-home job that is unexpectedly ending at the end of the year.  One DD has started high school and made the Pom team.  She also had a boyfriend that we had to make her break it off with him as he was becoming controlling and verbally abusive.  Did I mention she’s only 14 years old???

Why are parents not teaching their boys how to respectfully talk to girls?  And show them how to treat girls like gold, just like her Daddy does.  It has been a very tough couple of weeks.  I’m ready for the holidays to take a mental break from life.

I haven’t wanted to read at all.  That’s so not like me.  When I accepted the job,  I thought working from home would be an excellent way to make money while being at home for the girls after school.  I thought I would have time to write the family story that the family is expecting soon.  I thought I would have time to organize the house like I have always wanted the time to do.  I thought I would have time to really start studying the Bible like I wanted to do.  I thought I would get into a good work-out routine with all of this extra time I thought I would have.

But, it’s not working.

I didn’t expect to lose my job so soon after creating my office, investing in a laptop and other equipment.

I didn’t expect the financial insecurity that this consulting job would bring month after month.

I didn’t expect the lack of motivation I have been experiencing lately.

Plus, I’m just exhausted, with no real reason and have no desire to read right now.

So, it’s time for an attitude adjustment.

I want to read fun, light books right now.  Maybe holiday books would cheer me up.  I know I need to do something different. Because I’m not doing anything that I love and it’s wearing on me.

Anyone else feel this way? Do you feel like you should be happier in the situation you are in because you thought it’s what you wanted?  But now that you have it, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows?

I’ll be finishing up my consulting job, hopefully reading a little more since my hubby is leaving for a month-long trip to Israel for work this week and trying to find a job until Christmas time.  Then, I will focus on being with the kids and my hubby and enjoy the holiday with my family.

January will be a brand-new year, with so much up in the air that it’s overwhelming to consider what’s going to happen in 2017.  But for now, let’s find a good book, get lost in the story and forget our troubles for a while.

Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Head In The Clouds, Heart In The Books

Dreaming And Reading Through Life

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

planted oak

glimpses of God in the everyday

poisonedpenbooks.wordpress.com/

YOUR LOCAL BOOKSTORE, NO MATTER WHERE YOU LIVE.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

The Usual Foolishness

It's what I do

What's Broken

Madness, Magic, and the Writing of my Memoir - What's Broken, What's Breaking Down

alenaslife

My life in images, books, and words

The Day Dreamer & Candy Eater

Dreaming, Munching and Reading...

Book Journey

Continuing adventures of a true bookaholic...

The Redhead Bibliophile

What are you reading?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Head In The Clouds, Heart In The Books

Dreaming And Reading Through Life

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

planted oak

glimpses of God in the everyday

poisonedpenbooks.wordpress.com/

YOUR LOCAL BOOKSTORE, NO MATTER WHERE YOU LIVE.

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

The Usual Foolishness

It's what I do

What's Broken

Madness, Magic, and the Writing of my Memoir - What's Broken, What's Breaking Down

alenaslife

My life in images, books, and words

The Day Dreamer & Candy Eater

Dreaming, Munching and Reading...

Book Journey

Continuing adventures of a true bookaholic...

The Redhead Bibliophile

What are you reading?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

